BoM vs. BOM

Reading people’s comments on Katie’s post about the Book of Mormon (https://burningatthestake.wordpress.com/2011/01/19/the-thing-about-the-book-of-mormon-is (WordPress is very upset about the idea of me properly linking words these days for no good reason)) made me think about the ways that people abbreviate the Book of Mormon.

I think there is a right way and a wrong way. And I am hereby calling all the wrong-way abbreviators to repentance and a new, better way of life.

When you shorten the Book of Mormon, you should write BoM, with a capital B and a capital M and a lower case O. BOM is wrong. BoM is right.

Here’s why: when abbreviating words, it is customary to not include the extraneous words (the, and, a, an, and of, for example). Now, if you did this with the Book of Mormon, you would shorten it to BM. Given the shitty association (hee!) that this abbreviation would cause, it really needs to get ruled out, and the O is the obvious thing to disassociate the Book of Mormon from going poop.

However, the ‘of’ is still not a word that ought to get its own letter in the abbreviation. As we are giving it one purely to not be confusing ourselves about whether we’re quoting people’s scripture or potty talk, the letter should be lower-case. Thus, BoM.

I would further argue that if you insist on saying that it should be BOM and that the difference between BoM and BOM doesn’t matter, I have two things to say. First, if think that typing BOM makes for easier typewriting, you are wrong. If you are typing properly, it should actually be easier, or just as easy, to produce a lower-case O. When you type your capital B, you should be using the shift button on the right side of the keyboard, and when you type the M, you should be using the shift on the left side of the keyboard. The O would use the shift on the left side too, but you could actually type (marginally) faster if you do not push it for the O, but type the O while getting your pinky finger ready to shift.

Second, if you were to properly abbreviate the Book of Mormon using a capital O, technically, you should give attention to the the, thus abbreviating TBOM. Not including the the will hurt its feelings and it will betray you in a moment of need. The word the is fickle like that. And it has a long memory. TRUST ME. I’ve been burned before by this. Also, not only will your ‘the’ be hurt by your favoritism, but TBOM looks dumb. And since nobody does that, nobody will understand what you’re saying. It’s a real problem.

So, let’s all get on the BoM bandwagon and cont. to use approp. abbrs. in all of our blogging.

About katyjane

I am a wife, a mommy, a Christian, a writer, a knitter, a reader, a grammar geek, a cat lover, and a brunette (when my hair isn't dyed another color). I also am a singer/songwriter.
This entry was posted in Mormonism, Tidbits, Token Crazy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to BoM vs. BOM

  1. Katie L says:

    I don’t know, Katy. I never use the shift key on the right side of the keyboard. In fact, until you mentioned it just now, I had completely forgotten it even existed.

    And I am a fast typist — 100+ WPM.

    So BOM is much faster for me to type than BoM.

    I appreciate your point about TBOM, however. In fact, I think it has a nice ring to it. T-BOM. T-BOM. I might start using it in all my interfaith discourse from here on out.

  2. BrianJ says:

    Katy is da bomb for getting this right.

  3. Jared C says:

    Your reasoning is sound, but I am still partial to the big O.

  4. BrianJ says:

    Jared: I guess if that’s the only place you kind find it, then you have an excuse (sort of).

  5. Katyjane says:

    Katie-you may be a fast typist, but if you are ignoring the right shift then you are not typing correctly.

    And BrianJ is also da bom… But there will only ever be one t-bom.

  6. Whitney says:

    This seems relevant:

  7. Carla says:

    Who’s to say what “correct” typing is? If it works, and it appears to work quite well for Katie, and we’re saying “but it’s incorrect,” then what are we defining “correct” as except what one person taught another person, who taught another person, who taught another? It’s simply a tradition, neither correct nor incorrect.

  8. Katie L says:

    I freely acknowledge that I type incorrectly. But it’s not going to get me to change.

    I can’t help what I am.

    😉

  9. Jared C says:

    Nice call Whitney. .

    I think you are onto something we should abbreviate Book of Mormon – BoMfunk

    That video brings back lots of memories. BomfunkMC was the biggest thing in Finland back in 2000-2001. They are the only internationally Finnish HipHop Group. it was filmed in Helsinki.

  10. Katie L says:

    It’s true, Whitney did very well by posting this video. Very well indeed.

  11. katyjane says:

    “Who’s to say what “correct” typing is? If it works, and it appears to work quite well for Katie, and we’re saying “but it’s incorrect,” then what are we defining “correct” as except what one person taught another person, who taught another person, who taught another? It’s simply a tradition, neither correct nor incorrect.”

    Who’s to say? Mavis Beacon, for one. Also, me, since I wrote the blog post, and thus get to be the decider and ultimate answer on all things referred to in it.

    Also, there is a shift on the right side of the keyboard. If Katie isn’t using it, she’s as right-shift negligent as her lack of a T- in her incorrect BOM citeage was. And her right shift probably cries every night. Katie has begun the repentance process about forgetting her ‘the’s (although I think that perhaps she should pay penance in the form of posting as her facebook status message something about the brain ignoring the second the that appears at the beginning of a line.*), but has now admitted refusal to pay attention to her unused shift key. 😦

    *Many readers are not aware that the
    the brain will automatically ignore the
    the second instance of the word “the”
    when it starts a new line.

  12. Carla says:

    Mavis, my great archnemesis! You hold no sway over me! Bahahaha!

    So, today I was making a sign at work and put “and” both at the end of one line and at the beginning of the next. Alas, I am ordinary after all.

    You know what’s really ridiculous? When I was learning to type, I was taught nearly every key … except the backspace key. Who doesn’t make typos?? Shouldn’t the backspace key be the first thing they teach?? Discuss that!

  13. I think that if you are going to insist on abbreviating, you should abbreviate the full title. There would be a few ways to do this:
    TBOM:ATOJC
    TBoM:AToJC
    BM:ATJC

    I suppose we could also leave out the punctuation:
    TBOMATOJC
    TBoMAToJC
    BMATJC

    But that all gets so confusing. I am going to agree that BoM is the correct abbreviation, if you must abbreviate at all.

  14. Carla says:

    I’m voting for TBOMATOJC. T-BOMATO (pronounced like tomato)-JC

  15. Katie L says:

    Carla, well done.

  16. Kullervo says:

    You know what’s really ridiculous? When I was learning to type, I was taught nearly every key … except the backspace key. Who doesn’t make typos?? Shouldn’t the backspace key be the first thing they teach?? Discuss that!

    Sounds to me like someone wanted to learn how to be a failure on day one.

  17. Katie L says:

    How I wish we could “like” people’s comments on this blog. How I wish…

  18. Kullervo says:

    Plus, who needs a backspace key when you’ve got a secretary?

  19. Carla says:

    @ Kullervo: epic win.

  20. Kullervo says:

    Its because I never learned the backspace key.

Leave a Reply

