Live Church Update: Chicken Patriarchal Order

The winning quote from today’s talk on (I wish I were kidding but I’m not) “Marriage and the Patriarchal Order”: “The Patriarchal Order is not about power and control, but responsibility.”

Oh, because THAT’S supposed to make me feel better, thanks.

/sigh

Is it 2011 or 1950?

About Katie L

Thirtysomething wife, mother, writer, runner, believer, and lover of good food and bad movies.
This entry was posted in Feminism, Mormonism, Sexuality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Live Church Update: Chicken Patriarchal Order

  1. Katie says:

    I recognize that if I were a better person I would not post snarky blog posts in the middle of Sacrament Meeting, but let it roll like water off a duck’s back; however, I am who I am so it was either this or throwing a hymn book at the dude’s head.

  2. Whitney says:

    Having just come from a sermon that made me super happy, I can honestly say this just makes me sad.

    But I am wondering if you asked your dear husband for permission to be so subordinate. Seeing as how it’s his responsibility to keep you in line.

  3. Jared C says:

    Clearly throwing a hymn book at the dude’s head would be irresponsible.

  4. Katie L says:

    Clearly throwing a hymn book at the dude’s head would be irresponsible.

    Right? I’m just doing my part to be a helpmeet. I wouldn’t want to reflect poorly on my husband.

    But I am wondering if you asked your dear husband for permission to be so subordinate. Seeing as how it’s his responsibility to keep you in line.

    Fortunately, he was sleeping while I was live-blogging, so he still has no idea how much responsibility he has to keep me in check — and I plan on keeping it that way. Muahahahaha!

    😉

  5. Jared C says:

    “For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry…” -1st Samuel 15:23

  6. Kullervo says:

    Thats what this blog is for. Also, it’s for cussin’.

Leave a Reply

