Your Card For The Day: Queen of Swords

From LearnTarot.com:

Honest
faces the truth, even if unpleasant
is up front with everyone
likes everything on the table
plays by the rules
avoids lies and deception

Astute
sizes up a situation quickly
understands hidden motives and desires
is difficult to fool, trick or con
figures out the unspoken rules and agendas
is quick on the uptake

Forthright
is direct and open in all dealings
gets to the heart of the matter
acts without pretense or guile
is straightforward and no-nonsense
can be candid when necessary

Witty
has a delightful sense of humor
diffuses awkward situations with a funny remark
never takes anything too seriously
laughs at everything, including him or herself

Experienced
has seen and done it all
has strength due to life’s hard knocks
is free of self-righteous judgments
has realistic expectations

The personality of the Queen of Swords combines the positive air energy of the Swords suit with the inward focus of a Queen. You can always count on her to tell you exactly how it is. Above all else she admires honesty, and she lives by her commitment to being truthful. Lies, tricks and games are of no interest to her, but she’s not easy to fool. She is experienced in the ways of the world, good and bad. The Queen of Swords can size up a situation quickly. She understands human folly, but doesn’t condemn it. She knows when cow manure is being thrown around and simply finds clever ways around it. She prefers being straightforward and direct. Her observations are candid, but never hurtful. In fact, this Queen has a delightful sense of humor. She likes a good laugh and always has a witty comeback ready-to-hand. She knows that life isn’t meant to be taken too seriously. The Queen of Swords is refreshing in her candor and lack of pretense.

In readings, the Queen of Swords asks you to think and feel as she does. For example: Are you being completely honest? (Check this one first!) Do you see the humor in the situation? Are you getting right to the point? Have you figured out what’s really going on? Are you letting yourself be fooled?

This Queen can also represent a man or woman who is like her, or an atmosphere of honest, direct communication. In a reading, she tells you that her special energy has meaning for you at this time. Let yourself be inspired by this Queen in whatever form she appears in your life.

What do you think about the tarot? Magic? Bunk? Useful? Evil? Symbolic?

I’m definitely an unabashed tarot enthusiast, although I am not necessarily that experienced or that knowledgeable. My understanding of the nature of the tarot is that there’s nothing magic about it–the cards only have significance we give them. Their usefulness and power lies in their powerful symbolism and the resulting ability to cause us to think about things in new ways, to see new relationships between ideas and currents in our life, and and thus make connections that we might not have been able to make without them.

I think the symbolism of the tarot is, if not universal, at least close to universal, at least for people coming out of a western-civilization cultural context. The images in the Rifder-Waite deck are simple and poignant, and deal with archetypes, emotions, and values that embedded in our psyche.

Tarot cards are not primarily used to tell the future, but to evaluate the present (and by understanding the rpesent, to see where all of this is coming from and where it is probably going). When I do a tarot reading, the relationships between the cards in their various positions suggest relationships between ideas or experiences in the subject’s life. The connections themselves are as archetypical as the images on the cards, and as such they are universal enough to have some likelihood of sparking some sort of recognition of “aha” moment. In other words, by reading the cards and attaching their symbolic meanings to specific experiences, people, or ideas in your life, the relationships suggested by the position of the cards suggests relationships between those concrete experiential phenomena that you simply may not have considerd before. As such, there is a good possibility that seeing the “pieces” of your life arranged in a new way will give you insight into what is really going on in your life and in your mind.

Nothing magical or supernatural about it: nothing but psychology at work.

On the other hand, I do not necessarily discount the possibility that there may in fact be more involved than that. If I believe in a god or gods or some kind of cosmic unity, even a basic fundamental connectedness, then there is no reason why the will of God or the connections in the fundamentally connected universe couldn’t play out in what cards you draw and where you place them. Or in the conclusions and interpretations you give them.

I’ve done enough readings that were disturbingly spot-on that I think there is definitely something of value to the tarot. On the other hand, I’ve done a lot of readings that just didn’t “click.” Probably more of the latter than the former. And if/when the tarot is emrely serving as an analytical lens, it stands to reason that there wil be at least as many “misses” as “hits.” But even the misses have value: by considering these symbols and relationships and concluding that what I am seeing in the cards at the moment is not relevant or instructive or providing me with insight, I still reap the benefits of having considered new possibilities. The fact that I ultimately chose to discount the possibility considered does not undermine the value of considering the possibility in the first place.

Anyway, what do you think? Tool of Satan?

About Kullervo

Thirtysomething Christian, husband, father and lawyer; interested in the Bible, country music, southern lit, guitars, gardening, beer, running, nature, rock and roll, wargaming, southern food, Calvinism, the Crusades, the Protesant Reformation and the Civil War.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Your Card For The Day: Queen of Swords

  1. Pingback: What I Believe About The Tarot | Songs From The Wood

  2. Katie L. says:

    My best friend in high school was a pagan and enjoyed giving Tarot readings. I had him read my cards a couple of times and enjoyed it. I found his readings to be quite accurate…but then again, he was my best friend, and I often wondered if he wasn’t relying on his extensive knowledge of me just a tad. 🙂

    I did have one bad experience, though. He once gave another of our friends a reading that was so negative and yuck that it honestly made my skin crawl. It was accurate, but it seemed to play on our friend’s very worst attributes and fears, and it felt quite dark.

    I remember we used to debate whether or not there was much of a difference between patriarchal blessings and tarot card readings. Of course I privately believed that patriarchal blessings were “true” and tarot cards a “distortion,” but was PC enough not to say so out loud.

    These days I’d probably acknowledge that they serve similar functions, although I still feel as though patriarchal blessings seem more “legit” (as in, from God). I recognize that’s probably just my cultural biases talking, but there you go.

  3. Kullervo says:

    My best friend in high school was a pagan and enjoyed giving Tarot readings. I had him read my cards a couple of times and enjoyed it. I found his readings to be quite accurate…but then again, he was my best friend, and I often wondered if he wasn’t relying on his extensive knowledge of me just a tad.

    Again though, I think that is for the most part precisely how the tarot works. The cards weren’t telling you anything; the cards were laid out into an interpretive framework that you read meaning into, with the facilitation of your friend who knew you well.

    All of the good readings I have ever given have involved a lot of back-and-forth, discussion, and interpretation between me and the subject. If I was just doing a blank reading for a stranmger, I would have to interpret the cards alone and would not be able to apply them to the person’s life at all. The reading could still be good, but not as good as it could have been.

    I remember we used to debate whether or not there was much of a difference between patriarchal blessings and tarot card readings. Of course I privately believed that patriarchal blessings were “true” and tarot cards a “distortion,” but was PC enough not to say so out loud.

    Right, well, that’s special pleading, no? I think hat they are almost identical, except that the tarot has the advantage of dense and complex human symbolism that patriarchal blessings do not have.

    These days I’d probably acknowledge that they serve similar functions, although I still feel as though patriarchal blessings seem more “legit” (as in, from God). I recognize that’s probably just my cultural biases talking, but there you go.

    Well, patriarchal blessings are cloaked in purported authority, so it seems obvious that they should seem more legit, particularly if by “legit” you mean “authoritative” and you ascribe authority to patriarchs. But that’s basically a tautology.

  4. Jared C says:

    Many Mormons have a different way of doing the same thing as Tarot. They use scripturemancy.

  5. Kullervo says:

    That’s called “bibliomancy” and people other than Mormons have been doing that for a long time.

  6. Jared C says:

    sure, my point is that its the same thing as tarot, but not considered a tool of Satan.

  7. Jared C says:

    Speaking of Stichomancy in general, Here is a particularly important reading for you Kullervo.

    Most sorts of divination are entertaining to me. My grandfather used to read palms, which was another reason he kicked ass.

  8. Kullervo says:

    It was the Quakers’ last stand.

    My gods, it is really here!

  9. Jared C says:

    I think you can take that to the mf-ing bank

  10. Kullervo says:

    Jared, this is a swearing-positive place.

  11. Jared C says:

    . . . you can take that to the muthafucking bank.
    Yeah, I am trying to swear more. Still have Mormon hang-ups, I keep thinking my mother might read this blog someday.

    Which looks surprisingly likely.

  12. Whitney says:

    What’s this, what’s this? Tarot cards are confirming my bat shit crazy theory?

    Damn right.

    (Incidentally, my dad mentioned that he had taken a look at that masterpiece and wondered what the hell I’ve been getting into. He was hoping that it’s an elaborate joke.)

  13. Katie L says:

    (Incidentally, my dad mentioned that he had taken a look at that masterpiece and wondered what the hell I’ve been getting into. He was hoping that it’s an elaborate joke.)

    Will it break his heart to learn that you know, as we all know, that this is SERIOUS BUSINESS?

Leave a Reply

