Age of the Gods?

Speaking of deification, what age do you want to be immortalized at?

I always thought that I wanted to be 17 forever–old enough to drive, and no other vices that I really cared to be old enough for.

Now I sort of think that 28 is an awesome age.  But I’ve also heard good things about being 34.

What age do you want to be, when you become a god?

About katyjane

I am a wife, a mommy, a Christian, a writer, a knitter, a reader, a grammar geek, a cat lover, and a brunette (when my hair isn't dyed another color). I also am a singer/songwriter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Age of the Gods?

  1. Kullervo says:

    Hmm, I’m not sure gods necessarily have a fixed age. I’d like to have some flexibility. You know, be a sparkling adonis when it suits my purposes, a wise old patriarch at other times. Probably my default would be a nice, virile 30. With an impressive beard. And a gigantic cock.

    I’m just saying, if you’re going to be a god, be a god.

  2. Katie L. says:

    I don’t know. I turn 30 this year and I’m scared as hell about it.

    But I always heard, growing up, that we’ll be early 30s when we’re resurrected.

    (Tangential question: where do people get this stuff? Honestly.)

  3. Kullervo says:

    I don’t know. I turn 30 this year and I’m scared as hell about it.

    It’s not so bad.

  4. katyjane says:

    Katie-Jesus was 33 when he died. So obviously that’s the best age evahhhh. (Or, depending on your perspective, the worst?)

  5. Kullervo says:

    Katie-Jesus was 33 when he died. So obviously that’s the best age evahhhh. (Or, depending on your perspective, the worst?)

    Died and was deified.

    I wonder how old Herakles and Asklepios were when they became gods…

  6. Whitney says:

    Am I the only one who simply can’t grasp the concept of having a physical body after I die? I’m pretty sure I’m going to be a misty Essence of Whitney raining down awesomeness and sparkles upon the land. And mistiness is ageless. And naked.

  7. Kullervo says:

    My gods all have awesome, deathless, naked bodies.

    And we’re not talking about “after you die.” We’re talking about “after you are defified.” Not the same thing. Unless you are Jesus, where there is simply a chronological sequence of events. Or unless you are Herakles, who lit himself on fire so his mortal half would be burned away and all that would be left would be a god.

  8. katyjane says:

    Whitney–While I don’t know if I’ll have a body, and don’t really care either way, I have a hard time thinking about NOT having one. All these gym hours, wasted?! Or rather, I’d like to know what my body’s state of perfection would be. How close am I?

    If I turn out to be a misty essence, that’s cool. If I get to have a rockin’ bod’? That’s cool too.

  9. Kullervo says:

    If I turn out to be a misty essence, that’s cool. If I get to have a rockin’ bod’? That’s cool too.

    A rockin’ naked bod.

  10. Katie L. says:

    Part of me would be bummed if I’m just a misty essence, especially if I don’t get to retain my individual consciousness. If the next life is just me as a floating cloud of warm fuzzies, I’ll be totally bugged.

  11. Katyjane says:

    Whatevs Katie. You’ll be part of the shared consciousness and won’t be bummed. 😛

    Also, I bet whatever happens it will be awesome.

    Also, Kullervo, my rockin’ bod totally won’t be naked. Sorry, hon, it just won’t be that easy for you. 😛

  12. Ms. Jack says:

    The book Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson has a magic system that involves deities who walk among people. Everybody has something in them called “Breath;” one per person when you’re born. You can give your Breath to someone else by reciting a couplet, and if you do that, you become a Drab, which just means that your color is noticeably duller, kind of listless. Sometimes, when a person dies doing something valiant, s/he comes back as a god, called a Returned.

    The Returned aren’t really gods in the sense that we might think of them as. They’re larger than normal people, they don’t remember their former lives (and aren’t permitted to learn about them), and they can be killed the same as anyone can—one Returned dies by having his/her throat slit at one point in the book. They also have to consume one Breath every week or else they die. However, if they consume that Breath every week, they can live forever.

    The Returned aren’t meant to live forever though; they’re meant to hear petitions from sick and dying people who want their Returned Breath. The Breath of a Returned can heal someone fully, but once s/he gives his/her Breath away, the Returned will die. They live in a palace, they’re worshiped as gods, they’re given one Breath every week to live on, and every day they listen to petitions from sick and dying people. They’re meant to figure out who it is they’re supposed to help, then give their Breath away and die.

    ANYWAYS . . . the book has some interesting discussion of what people look like when they come back as gods. They don’t look like their former selves. At one point, one of the Returned, Lightsong, is trying to figure out how this Returned stuff works, and he notes the differences between some of the goddesses. They’re all attractive and somewhat athletic, but they take on different ages. Blushweaver is youthful, tall, slender and super-hot, always wearing the most revealing outfits. Mercystar is also young and very attractive, but slightly plumper and more curvaceous than Blushweaver. Allmother is older with gray hair, more matronly. Lightsong realizes that people come back looking like what they think gods should look like.

    I sort of wonder if it doesn’t work like that, that deified people look like what they think deified people should look like.

    Personally, I’d kind of like to look older and dignified, like Julie Andrews.

  13. Kullervo says:

    Yeah, but that’s like, being reincarnated as a semidivine being. We’re talking straight-up deification. At least I am.

Leave a Reply

